How I style: LBD (Little Black Dress)

by Gabriela Lubaba

Hi there!

Welcome to Lace and Tones.

In this first post, I’d like to show you some ideas of how I style LBD. I personally think that a black dress is a staple piece for every girl to have in their wardrobe. Not only that it’s easy to mix and match, you can also dress it up or dress it down.

One of my favorite ways to style a black dress is to layer it with a baggy jacket or cardigan on top of it and add a thigh high socks to not show too much skin. I like the casual and effortless look it gives overall.

CamoJacket

Parka2

HnM Dress, Zara Parka, American Apparel Thigh High Socks

Another way that I like to style an LBD is by layering a crop top on it. It doesn’t matter what kind of crop top you choose, because crop top itself already adds the dynamic to the look. If you like to add an accessory, put on a beanie on. Omygosh, I’m super obsessed with beanies right now. I think beanies come really handy if you live in a windy city like San Francisco. It keeps your hair in place when the wind strikes.

CropTop

Asos Crop Top, HnM Dress, American Apparel Tights, Ebay Neon Beanie, UNIF Platform Boots

You can also turn your plain black dress into a top. What I like to do is, I put on a high waisted skirt and a jacket to get a more put together look. (Tips: If your legs are short like mine, wearing a high waisted pants/skirt actually gives an illusion of longer legs. tee-hee!)

Skirt2

skirt3

HnM Dress, Press Shearling Jacket, HnM Pleather Skirt, UNIF Platform Boots.

Of course, there are many more ways to style a LBD. I just thought these 3 looks are the easiest ways to style a black dress.

1.Oversized/Baggy Jacket or Cardigan

2. Crop Shirt

3. High Waisted Skirt

I’m pretty sure its easy to try on some of these looks. Feel free to mix and match it. Don’t be afraid to add pops of colors and textures to your boring little black dress. Spice it up!

If you’d like to see a video of me styling the LBD, check out my video below.

I hope you guys find this helpful and informative. Again, a black dress is a very neutral piece to style so feel free to experiment on it. Thanks for checking out my blog guys! If you have any comments/thoughts or ideas, you can leave them in the comment box below. I’d be happy to hear your opinion. Hope you guys enjoy reading this, I’ll talk to you guys in my next one.

xoxo.

